MSOE’s Leadership


Dr. Matthew Panhans
Interim President

The MSOE Board of Regents appointed Dr. Matthew Panhans, P.E. as interim president to serve until the appointment of a new president in 2016. Panhans served most recently as professor and chairman of the Mechanical Engineering Department and has been with the university for 25 years. He is highly respected and has led MSOE’s largest degree program since 1998. His many years of experience at MSOE will provide a smooth presidential transition for the university.

Panhans earned a B.S. in mechanical engineering and both an M.S. and Ph.D. in materials science, all from Marquette University. Prior to teaching at MSOE, Panhans was a research metallurgical engineer for Allied-Signal Research Center (known today as Honeywell) in Illinois and an instructor for materials science and metallurgy at Marquette University. He is a licensed Professional Engineer in Wisconsin and consults with several companies in the Milwaukee area. He received MSOE’s Karl O. Werwath Engineering Research Award in 1995 for his contributions to the university including rapid prototyping curriculum development and Federal Aviation Administration-funded research on blast-resistant aircraft cargo containers. In 2002 he was appointed the first John and Linda Mellowes Professor at MSOE. He and his wife Katia have three children: Matthew, Justin and Cristina.



MSOE Board of Regents

The relationship between industry and the university are a hallmark of MSOE. Comprised of representatives of business, industry, government and education, the Board of Regents governs the operations and the future planning of the university through a series of standing committees.


Dr. Scott Moon
Chairman and CEO
Milwaukee, Wis.

Board Members

Todd A. Adams
CEO, President and Director
Rexnord Corp.
Milwaukee, Wis.

Dr. G. Woodrow Adkins
Chairman, CEO and Owner
Adkins Holdings LLC/
Managing Director
FCF Partners, LP
Milwaukee, Wis.

John J. (Jack) Allen ’80
American Intermodal Container Mfg.
Lisle, Ill.

Dr. Jack M. Blank
Retired President
The Falk Corp.
Milwaukee, Wis.

Steven G. Booth
President and COO
Robert W. Baird & Co.
Milwaukee, Wis.

Kendall G. Breunig ’79
Sunset Investors
Franklin, Wis.

John L. Cain
President and CEO
Scot Forge
Spring Grove, Ill.

Allen J. Carlson ’79
President and CEO
Sun Hydraulics
Sarasota, Fla.

Bernard A. Cohen, Ph.D. ’71
Founder and President
Neurological Monitoring Associates
Milwaukee, Wis.

Dr. Michael J. Cudahy
President and Owner
The Endeavors Group LLC
Milwaukee, Wis.

Curt Culver
Chairman and CEO
MGIC Investment Corp.
Milwaukee, Wis.

Dr. Dwight D. Diercks ’90
Senior Vice President
Software Engineering
Santa Clara, Calif.

John E. Duncan ’79
Vice President
Industrial Division
ZF Industries Inc.
Pleasant Prairie, Wis.

Dr. Susan Feith
Vice Chairman
Mead Witter Foundation Inc.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.

Kevin Fletcher
Executive Vice President
Customer Service & Operations
WEC Energy Group
Milwaukee, Wis.

Richard G. Galling ’75
President and COO
Hammes Co.
Brookfield, Wis.

Dudley J. Godfrey III
First Vice President
Financial Advisor
Morgan Stanley
Milwaukee, Wis.

Dr. Eckhart G. Grohmann
Former Chairman and President
Aluminum Casting & Engineering Co.
Milwaukee, Wis.

Thomas J. Hauske Jr.
Vice Chairman
Everett Smith Group Ltd.
Milwaukee, Wis.

Dr. Robert J. Hillis
President and CEO
Direct Supply Inc.
Milwaukee, Wis.

Michael E. Hora
Former Vice President
A.T. Kearney
New York, N.Y.

Ronald J. Jensen ’74
President and CEO
Paper Pak Industries
La Verne, Calif.

Dr. Robert D. Kern
Retired Chairman
Generac Power Systems
Waukesha, Wis.

Jay V. Loewi
President and Owner
QTI Group
Madison, Wis.

Dr. Carl R. Marschke, P.E.
Innomation Inc.
Phillips, Wis.

Dr. John A. Mellowes
Retired Chairman and CEO
Charter Manufacturing Co. Inc.
Mequon, Wis.

Daniel J. Moceri ’76
Co-founder and Executive Chairman
Convergint Technologies
Schaumberg, Ill.

Trent Nevill
Vice President, President Asia Pacific
Johnson Controls
Milwaukee, Wis.

Dr. James C. Rahn
Kern Family Foundation
Waukesha, Wis.

Agustin A. Ramirez
Chairman and CEO
Husco International
Waukesha, Wis.

Kathy Ruehlow ’72
Ruehlow Family Foundation Inc.
Oconomowoc, Wis.

Dr. Alan J. Ruud ’69, P.E.
DeltaHawk Engines, Inc.
Austin, Texas

Dr. John S. Shiely
Retired Chairman and CEO
Briggs & Stratton Corp.
Milwaukee, Wis.

Dr. Gary A. Stimac ’73
Compaq Founder
Retired Senior Vice President and General Manager
Systems Division
Montgomery, Texas

Dr. Dawn A. Tabat
Executive Vice President of Community and External Relations
Generac Power Systems
Waukesha, Wis.

Alfred J. Tector, M.D.
Retired CEO
Midwest Heart Surgery Institute
Medical Director of Transplant Programs
St. Luke’s Medical Center
Milwaukee, Wis.

Mark Train
Retired President and CEO
Jason Inc.
Milwaukee, Wis.

Dr. David V. Uihlein Jr.
Uihlein-Wilson Architects
Milwaukee, Wis.

Dr. Robert E. Vieau ’69
President and Owner
Vieau and Company
Montgomery, Texas

Hermann Viets, Ph.D.
President Emeritus
Milwaukee School of Engineering
Wickford, R.I.

Gary J. Vroman ’91
Ladish Co. Foundation
Cudahy, Wis.

Robert A. Wagner ’64
Chairman and CEO
R & B Wagner Inc.
Butler, Wis.

Neal K. Wunderlich ’73, ’74, P.E.
Wunderlich-Malec Engineering
Minnetonka, Minn.

Support MSOE
MSOE Success Stories

Meet Brent

More Success Stories