Originally published October 7, 2012

The American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) has announced that Dr. Jim Mallmann, a professor in MSOE’s Physics and Chemistry Department, will receive the association’s Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service during the 2013 Winter Meeting in New Orleans, La.

Mallmann is also the R.D. Peters Professor of Materials Science and director of the Photonics and Applied Optics Center at MSOE. He earned his B.S. and M.S. in physics at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. His Ph.D. from Marquette University is in materials science.

He has served as Wisconsin Section Representative for many years and has twice served as the president of the Wisconsin Section of AAPT. His service to AAPT has also included the Committee on Apparatus, which runs the Apparatus Competition, chairing the committee in 2002. He has also served as chair of the Committee on Laboratories. A member of AAPT since 1978, he has presented a paper at every summer AAPT meeting since 1981.

Wisconsin activities include the development of a course titled “A Hands-On Introduction to Electronics” that was taken over four semesters by 96 high school and middle school science teachers in southeastern Wisconsin. Funds for those courses were provided by NSF and by the Dwight D. Eisenhower Mathematics and Science Education Program.

Mallmann co-authored, with Norman C. Harris and Edwin M. Hemmerling, Physics: Principles and Applications and Experiments in Physics with Norman C. Harris which were published in 1990 by McGraw-Hill Companies.

About the Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT
Established in 1953 and renamed in recognition of AAPT founder Homer L. Dodge in 2012, the Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT is presented to members in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the association at the national, sectional, or local level.

About AAPT
AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists and industrial scientists and has more than 10,000 members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. AAPT was founded in 1930 and is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Md.

About MSOE
MSOE is an independent, non-profit university with about 2,500 students. MSOE offers 18 bachelor’s degrees and nine master’s degrees in the engineering, engineering technology, building and infrastructure engineering, health-related engineering, computer, business and nursing fields. The university has a national academic reputation; longstanding ties to business and industry; dedicated professors with real-world experience; an extremely high placement rate of 95%; and the highest starting and mid-career salaries of any Wisconsin university according to PayScale Inc. MSOE graduates are well-rounded, technologically experienced and highly productive professionals and leaders.