Originally published September 19, 2012

Outstanding full-time and part-time faculty members recently were honored at MSOE.

Dr. Bass Abushakra, associate professor in the Civil and Architectural Engineering and Construction ManagementDepartment, received the Karl O. Werwath Engineering Research Award. Karl O. Werwath was an innovator in engineering education and the application of technology, and believed that teaching effectiveness was enhanced through applied research and consulting. He felt that MSOE should make an effort to contribute to the advancement of technical knowledge for the benefit of business and industry for the good of the community and the nation. This award was initiated to recognize the vision of Karl O. Werwath and the contribution of MSOE faculty and staff who have fostered the advancement of applied scientific knowledge. Abushakra was nominated for this award by MSOE faculty and staff members, alumni, Regents and Corporation members. The award recipients are chosen based on criteria including their contribution to engineering, scientific research, consulting, the engineering profession and scholarship, promoting research at MSOE, patentable concepts and publications.

The Falk Engineering Educator Award was presented to Dr. Mohammad Mahinfalah, a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department. The award is given annually to a full-time faculty member with less than seven years experience. It is a testament to exemplary dedication and performance. Mahinfalah received a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering, and a master’s degree and Ph.D. in engineering mechanics, all from Iowa State University. His areas of specialization are experimental mechanics, composite materials, impact testing and vibrations.

Dr. Debra Smith ’92, a lecturer in the Mechanical Engineering Department, received the Johnson Controls Award, presented to outstanding part-time faculty. The award was inspired by Robert C. Moore, a long-time faculty member in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department. The award recognizes the contributions of part-time faculty to the education, motivation and support of the students at MSOE; encourages and recognizes excellence in teaching, both at the undergraduate and graduate levels; recognizes commitment and assistance to students outside of the classroom; and  recognizes contributions to the improvement of educational programs and the effectiveness of the learning process at MSOE. Smith earned a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from UW-Madison, a master’s degree in engineering management from MSOE, and a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from Marquette University.

Three members of the faculty were named Professors Emeriti. They are: James Dieball, professor, Physics and Chemistry Department; Professor Tom Labus, Mechanical Engineering Department; and David Tietyen, adjunct professor, Rader School of Business. Dieball and Tietyen will continue to teach as adjunct faculty members at MSOE.

MSOE is an independent, non-profit university with about 2,500 students. MSOE offers 18 bachelor’s degrees and nine master’s degrees in the engineering, engineering technology, building and infrastructure engineering, health-related engineering, computer, business and nursing fields. The university has a national academic reputation; longstanding ties to business and industry; dedicated professors with real-world experience; a 95% placement rate; and the highest starting salaries of any Wisconsin university according to PayScale Inc. MSOE graduates are well-rounded, technologically experienced and highly productive professionals and leaders.