Originally published April 2, 2012

MSOE’s student chapter of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) was the Class 2 recipient of the 2011 SAE Honeywell Outstanding Collegiate Branch Award. This award recognizes SAE Collegiate Branches for exemplary performance in the areas of technical meetings, networking opportunities, Collegiate Design Series competitions, promoting SAE membership and community service programs.

The group will be recognized during the SAE 2012 World Congress in April in Detroit where they will receive an $850 award. Chapter officers are Paul Gessler, chairperson; Marshall Schaeffer, vice chairperson; Patrick Comiskey, treasurer; Meghan Krause, secretary; Charlie Scanlon, program coordinator; Jim Day, fundraising coordinator; Alex Zelhofer, senior design liaison; and Mike Ajax, webmaster. Dr. Christopher Damm is the group’s advisor.

MSOE is an independent, non-profit university with 2,500 students. MSOE offers 18 bachelor’s degrees and nine master’s degrees in the engineering, engineering technology, building and infrastructure engineering, health-related engineering, computer, business and nursing fields. The university has a national academic reputation; longstanding ties to business and industry; dedicated professors with real-world experience; extremely high placement rates; and the highest starting salaries of any Wisconsin university according to PayScale Inc. MSOE graduates are well-rounded, technologically experienced and highly productive professionals and leaders.