Originally published May 13, 2013

Congratulations to the more than 60 Milwaukee School of Engineering students who were nominated for leadership awards this year. The following awards were presented at the annual President’s Student Leadership Awards Dinner on May 8:

Outstanding Student Award

Jordan Wagner, of Cedarburg, Wis., was chosen as the 2013 recipient of the Fred F. Loock Outstanding Student Award. This award is presented annually to the Milwaukee School of Engineering (MSOE) senior student, who, in the opinion of the faculty, most notably combines an excellent academic record and has at the same time demonstrated leadership and professional bearing in extracurricular or community service activities. It is the most prestigious student testimonial that MSOE bestows. Wagner will graduate on May 25 with a bachelor’s degree in biomolecular engineering from MSOE.

Other Awards

Vincent R. Canino Outstanding Biomedical Engineering Senior Student Award – Benjamin Bowe, Chippewa Falls, Wis., biomedical engineering
Nursing Leadership Award – Megan Syversen, Pewaukee, Wis., nursing
Matt W. Fuchs Outstanding AE&BC Senior Student Award – Andrew Hillstrom, Milwaukee, Wis., architectural engineering and construction management
Thomas W. Davis Student Leadership Award – Aaron Becker, Milwaukee, Wis., industrial engineering
Daniel E. Sahs Award for Service – Samantha Herold, Orland Park, Ill., biomedical engineering
Outstanding Peer Assistant Award – Anna Gutman, Menomonie, Wis., industrial engineering
Resident Assistant Programming Award – Benjamin Coopland, Kenosha, Wis., mechanical engineering
Greek of the Year Award – Jasmine Strickler, Pleasant Hill, Iowa, business management
Student Employee of the Year Award – Bryan Baumann, Muskego, Wis., management information systems
Senior Men’s Athlete of the Year Award – Jordan Werner, Bolingbrook, Ill., soccer/track, electrical engineering
Senior Women’s Athlete of the Year Award – Emma Lumpe, Lawrence, Kan., soccer, architectural engineering
Scholar Men’s Athlete of the Year Award – Nathan Brunk, Lake Mills, Wis., hockey, business management
Scholar Women’s Athlete of the Year Award – Kate Herrmann, Sycamore, Ill., soccer/track, biomedical engineering

Faculty/Staff Awards

    Several faculty and staff members also were recognized this year:
Oscar Werwath Distinguished Teacher Award – Dr. Russell Meier, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department
Johanna Seelhorst Werwath Distinguished Staff Award – Dana Grennier, Enrollment Management Department
Student Advocate Award – Valerie Manuel, Public Safety Department
Greek Advocate of the Year – Eric Homann, Facilities Department

MSOE is an independent, non-profit university with about 2,500 students. MSOE offers 20 bachelor’s degrees and nine master’s degrees in engineering, business, mathematics and nursing. The university has a national academic reputation; longstanding ties to business and industry; dedicated professors with real-world experience; a 94% placement rate; and the highest average starting and mid-career salaries of any Wisconsin university according to PayScale Inc. MSOE graduates are well-rounded, technologically experienced and highly productive professionals and leaders.