Outstanding full-time and part-time faculty members recently were honored at MSOE.

Dr. Jay Urbain, associate professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department, received the Karl O. Werwath Engineering Research Award. Karl O. Werwath was an innovator in engineering education and the application of technology, and believed that teaching effectiveness was enhanced through applied research and consulting. He felt that MSOE should make an effort to contribute to the advancement of technical knowledge for the benefit of business and industry for the good of the community and the nation. This award was initiated to recognize the vision of Karl O. Werwath and the contribution of MSOE faculty and staff who have fostered the advancement of applied scientific knowledge. Urbain was nominated for this award by MSOE faculty and staff members, alumni, Regents and Corporation members. The award recipients are chosen based on criteria including their contribution to engineering, scientific research, consulting, the engineering profession and scholarship, promoting research at MSOE, patentable concepts and publications. Urbain holds a bachelor’s degree in biology from Northeastern Illinois University, a bachelor’s degree in engineering, computer and information systems from University of Illinois at Chicago, a master’s degree in computer from Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT), an MBA from UW-Madison, and a Ph.D. in computer science from IIT.

The Falk Engineering Educator Award was presented to Dr. Richard Kelnhofer, P.E., an assistant professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department, and electrical engineering program director. The award is given annually to a full-time faculty member with less than seven years experience. It is a testament to exemplary dedication and performance. Kelnhofer received a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from UW-Milwaukee, and a master’s degree and Ph.D. in electrical engineering, from Marquette University.

Mark Zimmerman, an adjunct assistant professor in the General Studies Department, received the Johnson Controls Award, presented to outstanding part-time faculty. The award was inspired by Robert C. Moore, a long-time faculty member in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department. The award recognizes the contributions of part-time faculty to the education, motivation and support of the students at MSOE; encourages and recognizes excellence in teaching, both at the undergraduate and graduate levels; recognizes commitment and assistance to students outside of the classroom; and recognizes contributions to the improvement of educational programs and the effectiveness of the learning process at MSOE. Zimmerman earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in English from UW-Milwaukee.

Five members of the faculty were named Professors Emeriti. They are: Dr. Sherrill Leifer, associate professor, School of Nursing; Dr. Dudley Outcalt, associate professor, Civil and Architectural Engineering and Construction Management Department; Dr. Owe Petersen, professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department and assistant vice president of institutional research and assessment; Joyce Solochek, instructor, Physics and Chemistry Department; and Dr. Tom Swiontek, professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department.

MSOE is an independent, non-profit university with about 2,500 students celebrating its 110th anniversary. MSOE offers 20 bachelor’s degrees and nine master’s degrees in engineering, business, mathematics and nursing. The university has a national academic reputation; longstanding ties to business and industry; dedicated professors with real-world experience; a 94% placement rate; and the highest average starting and mid-career salaries of any Wisconsin university according to PayScale Inc. MSOE graduates are well-rounded, technologically experienced and highly productive professionals and leaders.