Four teams of architectural engineering and construction management students from Milwaukee School of Engineering traveled to the Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) Region 3 Conference and Student Competitions in October. They competed in three national competitions: preconstruction, electrical and healthcare; and one regional competition: design/build.

For each competition the teams receive a request for proposal (RFP) for a real project at 7 a.m. and have 16 hours to turn in their proposal at 11 p.m. The following morning they present their solution to a panel of judges, which usually includes individuals who were involved in the actual project.

National Champion: Preconstruction Team

The Preconstruction Team won the National Open Championship, in which 11 teams competed. This competition was sponsored by Pepper Construction and included teams from Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo, Purdue University and University of Houston.
Team members: Brett Foster, Megan Hayes, Trevor Koziczkowski, Bryan Makatura, Ryan Moldenhauer, Jill Vande Boom
Coach: Dr. Jeong Woo

Regional Champion: Design/Build Team

The Design/Build Team won the regional title, defeating teams such as Ferris State, University of Cincinnati and Illinois State University. A total of seven teams participated in the competition, sponsored by McCarthy Construction.
Team members: Donnie Bogle, Jordan Borst, Nick Gottlieb, Ben Ihlen, Tyler Mrowiec, Zane Witt
Coaches: Dr. Blake Wentz and Robert Lemke

National Runner-Up: Electrical Team

The Electrical Team was the runner-up in the National Open Competition, finishing behind Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo and in front of Purdue University.
Team members: Nick Cote, Neree Croteau, Zach Dawiec, Courtney Leaf, Cory Miklas, Karina Zarate
Coach: Dr. Blake Wentz

For the first time ever, MSOE entered the National Healthcare Competition. The team did not place in the top three, but students gained valuable experience and plan to compete again next year. Team members were Will Backes, Sarah Bower, Elizabeth Crawford, Christian Mueller, Jake Roberts and Morgan Squires. They were coached by Dr. Gulbin Ozcan-Deniz.

Since entering the competition in 1999, MSOE has had 21 top three places in national student competitions and 10 national championship teams. No other university in the country has experienced the consistent level of success demonstrated by MSOE.

MSOE is an independent, non-profit university with about 2,500 students celebrating its 110th anniversary. MSOE offers 20 bachelor’s degrees and nine master’s degrees in engineering, business, mathematics and nursing. The university has a national academic reputation; longstanding ties to business and industry; dedicated professors with real-world experience; a 94% placement rate; and the highest average starting and mid-career salaries of any Wisconsin university according to PayScale Inc. MSOE graduates are well-rounded, technologically experienced and highly productive professionals and leaders.