President Hermann Viets, Ph.D. hosted the annual President's Student Leadership Dinner on May 7. An outstanding group of more than 70 students were nominated for leadership awards at MSOE this year. Congratulations to all who were nominated and to the winners:

Outstanding Student Award

Sherri Biendarra, of West Bend, Wis., was chosen as the 2014 recipient of the Fred F. Loock Outstanding Student Award. This award is presented annually to the MSOE senior student, who, in the opinion of the faculty, most notably combines an excellent academic record and has at the same time demonstrated leadership and professional bearing in extracurricular or community service activities. It is the most prestigious student testimonial that MSOE bestows. Biendarra will graduate May 24 with a bachelor’s degree in biomolecular engineering from MSOE.

Other Awards

Vincent R. Canino Outstanding Biomedical Engineering Senior Student Award
Kimberly Fritz, Friendship, Wis., biomedical engineering

Nursing Leadership Award
Amy Brogley, Cuba City, Wis., nursing

Matt W. Fuchs Outstanding AE&BC Senior Student Award
Evan Crayford, River Falls, Wis., architectural engineering and construction management

Thomas W. Davis Student Leadership Award
Marissa Parent, Dodgeville, Wis., management information systems

Daniel E. Sahs Award for Service
Robin DeBoer, Milwaukee, electrical engineering

Outstanding Peer Assistant Award
John Krenzer, South Milwaukee, Wis., computer engineering

Resident Assistant Programming Award
Ethan Sippel, Mt. Calvary, Wis., architectural engineering and construction management

Greek of the Year Award
Sean McGarry, Hoffman Estates, Ill., biomedical engineering

Student Employee of the Year Award
Jasmine Strickler, Pleasant Hill, Iowa, business management

Senior Men’s Athlete of the Year Award
Scott Loftus, Germantown, Wis., golf, mechanical engineering

Senior Women’s Athlete of the Year Award
Paula Bohl, Muskego, Wis., soccer, business management ’13, M.S. in marketing and export management

Scholar Men’s Athlete of the Year Award
Patrick Gathof, Beloit, Wis., soccer, industrial engineering

Scholar Women’s Athlete of the Year Award
Elizabeth Kelnhofer, Hales Corners, Wis., rowing, mechanical engineering

MSOE is an independent, non-profit university with about 2,600 students that was founded in 1903. MSOE offers bachelor’s and master’s degrees in engineering, business, mathematics and nursing. The university has a national academic reputation; longstanding ties to business and industry; dedicated professors with real-world experience; a 96% placement rate; and the highest average starting and mid-career salaries of any Wisconsin university according to PayScale Inc. MSOE graduates are well-rounded, technologically experienced and highly productive professionals and leaders.