The National Fluid Power Association has been instrumental in developing standards tools for assessing the reliability of fluid power components.

These standards can be used to:

  • benchmark current levels of reliability and measure improvement and
  • provide customers with reliability data they can use in designing and maintain their machines.


The following standards have been published:

  • For Hydraulics – Recommended Practice NFPA/T2.12.11-2-2007 provides guidelines for assessing the reliability of hydraulic components by testing and reporting for components used in fluid power systems. Specific requirements for assessing the reliability of the components are contained in annexes for the following components: accumulators; hydraulic cylinders; hydraulic filters; hydraulic pumps and motors; and hydraulic valves. The standard provides:
    • general requirements for reliability testing;
    • statistical methods for assessing reliability;
    • an example of reliability calculations; and
    • annexes with specific test guidelines and threshold level criteria for each component listed above.

ISO has also published ISO/TR 19972 1:2009, Hydraulic fluid power — Methods to assess the reliability of hydraulic components — Part 1: General procedures and calculation method, which lists a number of methods that can be used to assess the reliability of hydraulic components, including several that do not require testing.

  • For Pneumatics – The ISO 19973 series, titled Pneumatic fluid power — Assessment of component reliability by testing, was published in 2007 and currently consists of:
    • Part 1: General procedures
    • Part 2: Directional control valves
    • Part 3: Cylinders with piston rod
    • Part 4: Pressure regulators


Does your organization utilize these best practices? Join us for a seminar dedicated to ensuring you get consistent reliable service from your hydraulic components. Join us for "Service and Operation for Improved Hydraulic System Reliability", August 11 - August 15.