This is part 2 of 3 of “An Overview of the Architectural Engineering and Civil Engineering Programs at MSOE”. Read part 1.

Civil engineering (CVE) is a very broad engineering discipline that has 7 recognized specialty areas. A practicing civil engineer typically practices in only one or two of the 7 areas. The areas are:

  1. Structural engineering
  2. Environmental Engineering
  3. Water Resources Engineering
  4. Transportation Engineering
  5. Surveying
  6. Geotechnical Engineering
  7. Construction Management

Our MSOE civil program offers specializations in three (3) of the above: structural, environmental, and water resources.

Few colleges offer all 7 as options to students. Different civil programs at different colleges typically specialize in whatever areas they have the strongest faculty in or which are most important to their geographical region. However, you will get an introductory course in each of the 7 areas in our program, and then extensive coursework in the area of your choice among the 3 specialties we offer.

Both AE and CVE require the same math and science preparation and students in both programs must take the full calculus sequence, college chemistry sequence, a year of calculus based physics and the same basic engineering science courses. The difference between the two lies in the applications based courses. AE is building oriented, while CVE is infrastructure oriented.

The final installment of the series will be on the specialities within the Civil Engineering Program

Deborah Jackman, Ph.D. , P.E., LEED AP
Chair and Professor
Civil and Architectural Engineering and Construction Management Department