3 Replies Latest reply: Jan 27, 2014 9:42 AM by Paul Fabian RSS

Laptop program opt out?

John Wagner

As a business student I kinda feel like the whole laptop program is a scam.  There are really no specific software titles we need compared to other majors and even though business students have a different type of laptop than everyone else I still feel like it isn't that great. For example, the screen on mine has a white spot show up near the middle on all light backgrounds and someone else I know in the business program can't connect to the school wifi half the time.  I feel like there needs to be a way to opt out and give students the option to furnish their own computers.

• Re: Laptop program opt out?
    Mitch Trewyn

With many of the students on campus we need access to programs for our majors, whether that student is an Engineering, Nursing or Business student.  I am Management Information Systems, so business.  The expensive part of our computer program is the programs that we need generally, which you would not be able to use with your own computer.  This is why the computer program is mandatory for full-time students.

With that being said, you are more than welcome to bring or use your own computer in your classrooms.  As far as your screen issue and the wifi issue, you are also paying for IT for situations like this when you do have issues.  For this reason alone I will have to disagree with your statement of the program being a 'scam'.  IT is a tool just like your laptop, don't be afraid to use it.

Shawna Ferguson

John,