7 Replies Latest reply: Mar 11, 2014 11:17 PM by Jacob McKay RSS

Proposed Game Development Group/Club/Gathering/Org/Team/Unit/Squad/Force

Jacob McKay

I'm a senior SE student here and I was wondering what the process is for starting a student org.  I've been getting into game development lately and I'm willing to bet there are a few others here that would like to at least get their toes wet in that area.  Where do I start?

• Re: Proposed Game Development Group/Club/Gathering/Org/Team/Unit/Squad/Force
    Brody Brown

Luckily for you the student handbook PDF was posted 3 items below this discussion in my activities stream. Here is the link, check page 21. http://www.msoe.edu/docs/DOC-3422 If you do get this up and running I would love to be a part of it, though don't you think it is a little late to be bringing this up seeing as how you will be graduating this summer? Or are you staying on with the Master's degree program?

Jacob McKay

Thanks for the link.  I'll be submitting an annual registration form, finding an advisor, and composing a roster over the next week(s).  I'll be around here til next November and I definitely wouldn't mind staying involved as an alumnus.  Back in the day when I was looking for a college to go to I saw on the MSOE website under the description for their software engineering degree program that: (and I quote) "...software engineering is making video games!"  and in the fine print they casually mentioned what I'd actually be learning for the next four years of my life.