7 Replies Latest reply: Sep 2, 2014 3:06 PM by Mark Groe RSS

MSOE Choir

Ryan Koeppen

Hi everyone,

So I'm new to the Bridge, but definitely a prospective student. I visited a few days ago to learn more about the school, and it's definitely one of my top choices already. Granted, I'm only a junior in high school and have lots more schools to visit...

Anyways, all through high school, I've done choir and band, and music has always been a passion of mine since the time I was about six years old. One major factor in looking at colleges for me is to see how the choirs are. I know that MSOE is obviously a science/engineering school, but I've come to understand that there is a student-led choir here. Does anyone have any information on that? Maybe know a place I can here recordings? I'm very interested!

Thanks all,

Ryan K

• Re: MSOE Choir
    Gerald Soriano

Check out this group page and contact the admins there. Student Music Organization. Hope this helps.

Dana Grennier

Nicholas Gorden would be a good person to contact.  He will get you pointed in the right direction.

Nicholas Gorden

Thanks Dana!

Ryan, I'd love to talk to you more about music at MSOE.  I have been an executive of SMO (Student Music Org) for 2 years and the president for the last year (But just handed that off, as I'm graduating this semester).

SMO includes SIX music groups - 3 choirs (Men's Choir, Women's Choir, and Mixed), a String Ensemble, Symphony Orchestra, and a Jazz Band.  We are constantly growing and adding groups into the organization, and (I believe) we are the second largest student organization here at MSOE.

The groups are not a huge time commitment, with practice once a week for 1-2 hours.  We hold 2 concerts a year, Winter and Spring, and most groups have other times that they perform as well.  Unfortunately, I don't know if we have any recordings of ourselves.

My question to you is - What instrument/Voice-part do you play(sing)?

-Nick

Ryan Koeppen

Hello Nick,