Dr. Wujie Zhang, Dr. Eryn Hassemer, and Beth Slayman

In keeping with tradition, outstanding full-time and part-time faculty members were honored at MSOE to mark the beginning of the new academic year.

Dr. Wujie Zhang, assistant professor in the Physics and Chemistry Department, received the Karl O. Werwath Engineering Research Award.

Karl O. Werwath was an innovator in engineering education and the application of technology, and believed that teaching effectiveness was enhanced through applied research and consulting. He felt that MSOE should make an effort to contribute to the advancement of technical knowledge for the benefit of business and industry for the good of the community and the nation. This award was initiated to recognize the vision of Karl O. Werwath and the contribution of MSOE faculty and staff who have fostered the advancement of applied scientific knowledge. Zhang was nominated for this award by MSOE faculty and staff members, alumni, Regents and Corporation members. The award recipient is chosen based on criteria including his or her contribution to engineering, scientific research, consulting, the engineering profession and scholarship, promoting research at MSOE, patentable concepts and publications.

Zhang holds a Bachelor of Science in Food Science and Engineering and Master of Science in Food Science from University of Shanghai for Science and Technology. He earned his Ph.D. in biomedical engineering from University of South Carolina at Columbia. Zhang joined the faculty in at MSOE in 2012 and is currently the principle investigator on a National Science Foundation I-Corp funded research project titled “Developing an Artificial Red-Blood-Cell Product.” He also is involved with the Clinical and Translational Science Institute of Southeast Wisconsin (CTSI) as an executive committee member of the Regional Device and Drug Development Initiative.

The Falk Engineering Educator Award was presented to two members of the faculty: Dr. Wujie Zhang and Dr. Eryn Hassemer. The award is given annually to full-time faculty members with less than seven years experience. It is a testament to exemplary dedication and performance. Hassemer is an assistant professor in the Physics and Chemistry Department. She received a Bachelor of Science in human biology from the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay and a Ph.D. in cell biology from the Medical College of Wisconsin.

Beth Slayman, adjunct assistant professor in the Rader School of Business, received the Johnson Controls Award, presented to outstanding part-time faculty. The award was inspired by Robert C. Moore, a long-time faculty member in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department. The award recognizes the contributions of part-time faculty to the education, motivation and support of the students at MSOE; encourages and recognizes excellence in teaching, both at the undergraduate and graduate levels; recognizes commitment and assistance to students outside of the classroom; and recognizes contributions to the improvement of educational programs and the effectiveness of the learning process at MSOE. Slayman earned a Bachelor of Science in computer engineering from Case Western Reserve University and a Master of Science in computer engineering from Marquette University.