Five teams of architectural engineering and construction management students from Milwaukee School of Engineering traveled to the Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) Region 3 Conference and Student Competitions in October. The competition hosted about 280 students majoring in architectural engineering, civil engineering, and construction management. A total of 14 companies sponsored the four day event. MSOE teams took first in the nation for the health care competition, second place in the regional commercial competition, and third place in the regional design build competition.

For each competition the teams receive a request for proposal (RFP) for a real project at 7 a.m. and have 16 hours to turn in their proposal at 11 p.m. The following morning they present their solution to a panel of judges, which usually includes individuals who were involved in the actual project.

National Champion: Health Care Team
The Health Care Team won the National Open Championship. This competition was sponsored by Turner and tested each team’s ability to estimate and plan the construction of a hospital and their ability to present that plan professionally and efficiently to a client. Congratulations to team members: Zach Dawiec, Trevor Koziczkowski, Michelle Vanbuskirk, Jill Vandeboom, Brent Wilcox, Alexander Vetroczky and their coach Jeong Woo.

Regional Second Place: Commercial Team
The Design/Build Team won the second place regional title with their RFP for a senior housing project which was sponsored by Walsh. Congratulations to Megan Harley, Andrew Jax, Michael Laskowski, Brian Mueller, Travis Smith, Brett Vollmer and their coach Jeong Woo.

Regional Third Place: Design/Build Team
The Design/Build Team won the third place regional title with their RFP for a convention center. McCarthy sponsored the competition. Congratulations to Gustavo Cantoral, Jessica Johnson, Luke Muller, Marina Sharp, James Simonson, Evan Wilson and their coach DeAnna Leitzke.

National Competition: Electrical Team
The Electrical Team submitted a proposal for the construction plan for an Intelligent Transportation System for Illinois Route 390 in northeastern Illinois. The competition was sponsored by Aldridge Electric. Team members included: Rinkinson Gohel, Katie Maki, Casey Moneer, Marcos Trejo Perez, Brittany Vitkovich, Scott Zietlow and their coach Christine Brotz.

National Competition: Concrete Solutions
The team submitted a proposal for concrete solutions for a project with unforeseen conditions and poor terrain in New York. The competition was sponsored by Lithko. Team members included: Gage Christianson, Joey Fassbender, Cody Ganchar, Mitch Hickmann, Edward Hinsa, Mike Shea and their coach Jeong Woo.

Since entering the competition in 1999, MSOE has had 24 top three places in national student competitions and 13 national championship teams. No other university in the country has experienced the consistent level of success demonstrated by MSOE.