MSOE’s student chapter of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) was the Class 1 recipient of the 2016 SAE Honeywell Outstanding Collegiate Chapter Award. This award, which was established in 1963 and is administered by the Education Board, recognizes SAE Collegiate Branches for exemplary performance in the areas of technical meetings, networking opportunities, promoting SAE membership, activities including the Collegiate Design Series™ competitions, and community service programs like A World in Motion.®

The MSOE Chapter has won this award 4 times in the last 6 years. For their efforts, the group will receive a plaque and $1,000 award, which will be presented at the Annual Faculty Meeting during the SAE 2017 World Congress this April in Detroit.

“We are honored to receive this award. It’s a testament to the hard work and commitment of the students in our SAE chapter,” said Dr. Christopher Damm, head of MSOE’s mechanical engineering program and faculty advisor to the student chapter. “The SAE student officers and competition teams continue to excel in providing the MSOE community with meaningful exposure to the engineering profession.”

As of the beginning of the 2016-17 school year, MSOE’s SAE student chapter has 146 members with 84 involved in senior design teams. Its board members are mechanical and electrical engineering majors. The chapter officers are Lauren Goulet, Brandon Vanderheyden, Spencer Rich, Lucas Bednarski, Daniel Fricke, Britt Campbell, Bailey Walsh and Austin Bartz.