MSOE’s student chapter of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) was the Class 1 recipient of the 2014 SAE Honeywell Outstanding Collegiate Branch Award. This award, which was established in 1963 by the Bendix Corp., recognizes SAE Collegiate Branches for exemplary performance in the areas of technical meetings, networking opportunities, promoting SAE membership, activities including the Collegiate Design SeriesTM competitions, and community service programs like A World in Motion®.

The group received a plaque and $1,000 award. With 132 student members, MSOE’s SAE student chapter is the second largest student chapter in the U.S. and third largest in the world. Its board members are mechanical engineering majors Karl Hundt, president; Adrian Robillard, vice president; Lauren Goulet, secretary; Simon Gall, treasurer; Ben Mueller, sponsorship coordinator; Brandon Vanderheyden, program coordinator; Greg Kucab, design team liaison; and David Doyle, webmaster. Dr. Christopher Damm, professor and mechanical engineering program director, is the group’s faculty advisor.