Congratulations to the nearly 100 Milwaukee School of Engineering students who were nominated for leadership awards this year. The following awards were announced at the virtual Student Awards Celebration on May 22.  

Outstanding Student Award
Nicole Weise was chosen as the 2020 recipient of the Fred F. Loock Outstanding Student Award. This award is presented annually to the MSOE senior student, who, in the opinion of the faculty, most notably combines an excellent academic record and has at the same time demonstrated leadership and professional bearing in extracurricular or community service activities. It is the most prestigious student testimonial that MSOE bestows. Weise will graduate May 23 with a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from MSOE.  

While at MSOE, Weise was part of the University Honors Scholars Program and a member of Engineers Without Borders, serving as project manager, vice president, treasurer and various sub-team leads. She also was involved with Intervarsity Christian Fellowship and served as president, mentor, executive board member, group coordinator and emcee, and Bible study leader; participated in Society of Women Engineers, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, National Science Foundation Innovation-Corps Program and Student Union Board. Weise was a student athlete on the NCAA Triathlon/Track and Field team. Over the last six years, Weise spent more than 2,300 hours volunteering for multiple organizations, including Military Honors Services, ASME Female Leaders Advocating Mechanical Engineers, Despensa De la Paz Food Pantry, Respite Program Hunger Task Force, United Way Milwaukee and more.  

Weise is originally from Waupaca, Wisconsin. In addition to her involvement at MSOE, she held internships at Milwaukee Tool, Engineers Without Borders and Johnson Controls.  

High Honor Awards
Student Employee of the Year: Darby Shotton, nursing, West Allis, Wisconsin
Female Senior Scholar Athlete: Rachel Ruona, track and field, engineering management, Grafton, Wisconsin
Male Senior Scholar Athlete: Matthew Kirmse, basketball, MBA, Saukville, Wisconsin
Female Senior Athlete of the Year: Amanda Manssen, softball, industrial engineering, Burlington, Wisconsin
Male Senior Athlete of the Year: Daniel Martens, volleyball, software engineering, Northbrook, Illinois
Daniel E. Sahs Memorial Award for Service: Edwina Sofia Paredes, actuarial science, Davao City, Philippines  
Thomas W. Davis Student Leadership: Alaina Jante, mechanical engineering, Grayslake, Illinois
Diversity and Inclusion Student: Anne-Marie Warren, architectural engineering, El Paso, Texas  

Academic Awards
Nursing Leadership Award: Joy Orji, nursing, Villadose, Italy
Vincent Canino Outstanding Biomedical Engineering Senior: Jamie Schara, biomedical engineering, New Berlin, Wisconsin

Non-Academic Awards
Greek of the Year: Reanna Barringer, biomedical engineering, Holland, Ohio  

Faculty and Staff Awards
Greek Advocate of the Year: Kristen Landaal, hall director–RWJ, Residence Life Department
Student Advocate: Michael Hinder, coordinator of tutoring services, Wellness Center
Diversity and Inclusion Advocate: Dr. Wujie Zhang, associate professor, Physics and Chemistry Department  

Northwestern Mutual Outstanding Actuarial Science Students
Northwestern Mutual recognized nine MSOE students for their dedication and hard work in actuarial science:
David Farino, actuarial science, Bayside, Wisconsin
Joshua Herzog, actuarial science, Tucson, Arizona
Hantao Jing, actuarial science, Brookfield, Wisconsin
Meghan Karbarz, actuarial science, Lockport, Illinois
Evan Koenig, actuarial science, Delafield, Wisconsin
Benjamin Krause, actuarial science, Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Samuel Peterson, actuarial science, New Berlin, Wisconsin 
Brandon Stoller, actuarial science, Hartland, Wisconsin
Kyle Zacher, actuarial science, Port Washington, Wisconsin