Congratulations to the nearly 100 Milwaukee School of Engineering students who were nominated for leadership awards this year. The following awards were announced at a mini Student Awards Celebration.  

Outstanding Student Award
Anna Spaude was chosen as the 2021 recipient of the Fred F. Loock Outstanding Student Award. This award is presented annually to the MSOE senior student, who, in the opinion of the faculty, most notably combines an excellent academic record and has at the same time demonstrated leadership and professional bearing in extracurricular or community service activities. It is the most prestigious student testimonial that MSOE bestows. Spaude will graduate May 21 with a bachelor’s degree in nursing from MSOE.  

Spaude was actively involved in projects and organizations across campus while at MSOE. She served as a resident assistant (RA) for the University Scholars Honors Program, the lead tutor for the Raider Center for Academic Success (RCAS), vice president and member for the Student Nurse Association (SNA), president of the Nursing Honors Society, a student advisory board member for the School of Nursing and the communications coordinator for MSOE Student Government. She also was a leader in several volunteer projects, including the clothing drive organizer for the McCannon Brown Homeless Sanctuary, freshman orientation leader for Welcome Week, food drive coordinator for the House of Peace, and participated in additional volunteer opportunities through the SNA. During her time at MSOE, she also gained more than 600 hours of clinical experience.

Spaude is originally from Greenfield, Wisconsin. In addition to her involvement at MSOE and in the community, she held positions as a patient safety companion at Children’s Wisconsin, a nursery childcare provider at Grace Lutheran Church and a festival supervisor at Saz’s.

High Honor Awards
Student Employee of the Year: Kyle Ignasiak, civil engineering, Muskego, Wisconsin
Female Senior Scholar Athlete: Brooke Zidek, soccer, biomolecular engineering, Tinley Park, Illinois
Male Senior Scholar Athlete: Drew Matticks, wrestling, mechanical engineering, Oak Park, Illinois
Female Senior Athlete of the Year: Lorrin Pondo, softball, biomedical engineering/electrical engineering, Bolingbrook, Illinois
Male Senior Athlete of the Year: Drew Matticks, wrestling, mechanical engineering, Oak Park, Illinois
Daniel E. Sahs Memorial Award for Service: Muskan Kanungo, biomolecular engineering, Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Thomas W. Davis Student Leadership: Kirat Mokha, electrical engineering, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Diversity and Inclusion Student: D'Amoure Washburn, mechanical engineering, Peoria, Illinois

Academic Awards
Nursing Leadership Award: Anna Spaude, nursing, Greenfield, Wisconsin
Vincent Canino Outstanding Biomedical Engineering Seniors: Katie Merriman, biomedical engineering/electrical engineering, Sheboygan, Wisconsin and Megan Brock, biomedical engineering, Plainfield, Illinois

Non-Academic Awards
Greek of the Year: Nicole Lange, biomedical engineering, Lake in the Hills, Illinois

Faculty and Staff Awards
Greek Advocate of the Year: Thomas Schwanebeck, director of finance, Finance Office
Student Advocate: Alexa Deacon, director of campus life, Campus Life
Diversity and Inclusion Advocate: Erick Johnson, physics specialist, Raider Center for Academic Success

Actuarial Science Awards
Thanks to the generosity of Northwestern Mutual and Milliman, 15 actuarial science students were awarded $200 checks for passing at least one of their professional exams during the 2020-21 academic year.
Northwestern Mutual Outstanding Actuarial Science Students
Nicholas Camacho, actuarial science, Crystal Lake, Illinois
Connor Dugre, actuarial science, De Pere, Wisconsin
Kalvin Fellows, actuarial science, Shorewood, Illinois
Joshua Geisel, actuarial science, Waukesha, Wisconsin
Josef Gerhartz, actuarial science, West Allis, Wisconsin
David Hunger, actuarial science, North Aurora, Illinois
Sean Lange, actuarial science, Hamilton, Ohio
Jacob McClelland, actuarial science, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Joshua Rossy, actuarial science, Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Jillian Ruark, actuarial science, Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Nicholas Stachura, actuarial science, Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Milliman Actuarial Science Student Awards
Thomas Crivello, actuarial science, Hales Corners, Wisconsin
Brendan Ferguson, actuarial science, Destin, Florida
Katelyn Kooiker, actuarial science, Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Shawn Tipton, actuarial science, Elk Grove, Illinois