Milwaukee School of Engineering was proud to sponsor the National Fluid Power Association’s (NFPA) Fluid Power Action Challenge in May for 26 teams of middle school students. The annual STEM-based competition challenges students to solve an engineering problem using fluid power. The students work in teams to design and build a fluid power mechanism and then compete against other teams in a timed competition.  

The Fluid Power Action Challenge actively engages students in learning about fluid power, gives support and resources to teachers for science and technology curriculum, creates a learning environment where math and science are fun, encourages students to practice teamwork, engineering and problem-solving skills, and introduces students to careers in the fluid power industry.  

MSOE and NFPA extend their gratitude to volunteers from Poclain, Milwaukee Tool, MSOE Fluid Power Institute, GEHL, Force America, Dura-Bar and Husco for their mentorship and serving as judges. Congratulations to this year’s NFPA Fluid Power Action Challenge winners:  

A team of Home School students (Nashotah, Wisconsin) was named the 2022 Overall Winner.
Bayside Middle School Team #6 (Bayside, Wisconsin) received the 2022 Portfolio Award.
Bayside Middle School Team #3 (Bayside, Wisconsin) won the 2022 Design Award.
Wheatland Center School Team #5 (Burlington, Wisconsin) received the 2022 Teamwork Award.
Wheatland Center School Team #2 (Burlington, Wisconsin) won the 2019 Team Challenge.

NFPA provides a forum for the fluid power industry’s channel partners—manufacturers, suppliers, distributors, customers and educators. Its 335+ U.S. and multinational members work cooperatively in advancing hydraulic and pneumatic technology through the association’s many programs and initiatives. 

Hundreds of individuals in NFPA member companies and education partner institutions have been involved in mentorship, classroom activities, and events related to the Fluid Power Action Challenge, which have engaged more than 25,000 students throughout the United States to date.