Eleven students recently traveled to Baltimore to compete at the Future Business Leaders of America/Phi Beta Lambda (FBLA/PBL) National Leadership Conference. The students, all members of MSOE’s PBL chapter, came home with 10 awards.  

Phi Beta Lambda award winners
MSOE PBL Chapter award winners

Competitive events included both written examinations and judged demonstrations in business and information technology subjects. More than 3,000 students competed at the conference, which was for students who advanced from their regional competitions.  

At the chapter level, MSOE PBL received the Gold Seal Recognition from Wisconsin FBLA/PBL leadership. They also earned Outstanding Local Chapter for service, scholarship and philanthropy. Outgoing president Aleah Quast was awarded “Who’s Who in PBL,” which recognizes PBL members who have made outstanding contributions to the association at the local, state and national levels. Dr. Katrina Moskalik, the group’s leader, was also awarded Outstanding Chapter Advisor for the state of Wisconsin for the second year in a row.

Congratulations to the students on their success:  

Aditya Beura ’21, business administration major

  • 10th place: Information Management

Darrin Cernohous ’18, business management major

  • 5th place: Entrepreneurship Concepts
  • 10th place: Marketing Concepts

Brett Diedrich ’21, business administration major

  • 4th place: Cyber Security
  • 7th place: Computer Concepts

Hallie Flanders ’18, business administration major

  • 2nd place: Marketing Analysis & Decision Making (team)

Tori Johnston ’20, business administration major

  • 2nd place: Marketing Analysis & Decision Making (team)
  • 7th place: Marketing Concepts

Aleah Quast ’18, business management major

  • 1st place: Business Communication
  • 4th place: Business Decision Making

Ask an Expert

Associate Professor

Dr. Katrina Moskalik

Department: Rader School of Business