Congratulations to the nearly 100 Milwaukee School of Engineering students who were nominated for leadership awards this year. The following awards were announced at a Student Awards Celebration on April 30, 2024.  

Outstanding Student Award
Christian Garcia was chosen as the 2024 recipient of the Fred F. Loock Outstanding Student Award. This award is presented annually to the MSOE senior student, who, in the opinion of the faculty, most notably combines an excellent academic record and has at the same time demonstrated leadership and professional bearing in extracurricular or community service activities. It is the most prestigious student testimonial that MSOE bestows. Garcia will graduate on May 11 with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from MSOE.  

Garcia served as an Infantry Squad Leader in the United States Army from 2016 to 2021. His military experience empowered him to shape his leadership skills and strategic planning abilities. He showcases his leadership skills across campus and in the community. Garcia is committed to global health and community service. He volunteered his time through Global Brigades in Honduras and Panama where he provided health care in underserved communities. As president of the Medical Brigade, he demonstrated effective leadership in planning and executing health care initiatives while promoting sustainable development. He also presented “Ethical Dilemmas Behind Vaccinations” at the 15th World Conference on Bioethics, Medical Ethics and Health Law in Porto, Portugal in October 2023. Outside of MSOE, Garcia works as a nursing extern in the Coronary Intensive Care Unit at St. Luke’s Advocate Aurora Health. Here he collaborates with registered nurses to provide comprehensive patient care. 

High Honor Awards
Student Employee of the Year: Lucas Migliaccio, civil engineering, Waukesha, Wis.
Female Senior Scholar Athlete: Emma Halverson, women’s soccer, industrial engineering, Brooklyn, Wis.

Male Senior Scholar Athlete: Donovan Carter, men’s basketball, finance, Island Lake, Ill.
Female Senior Athlete of the Year: Kaitlyn Rodman, track and field, biomedical engineering, Fort Mill, S.C.

Male Senior Athlete of the Year: Blake Hall, baseball, mechanical engineering, West Bend, Wis.
Daniel E. Sahs Memorial Award for Service: Ava Montoya, civil engineering, Las Vegas, Nev.
Thomas W. Davis Student Leadership: Christian Garcia, nursing, Milwaukee, Wis.
Diversity and Inclusion Student Advocate Award: Louisa Essuman, civil engineering, Cape Coast, Ghana. This award was accepted by Alhagie Boye on Louie’s behalf.
Aimei Nie Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Student Champion: Richard Santos, chemical and biomolecular engineering, Skokie, Ill.

Academic Awards
Nursing Leadership Award: Jacqueline Lynch, nursing, Milwaukee, Wis.
Vincent Canino Outstanding Biomedical Engineering Seniors: Christina Clark, biomedical engineering, Orland Park, Ill.; Tyler Gallun, biomedical engineering, Oconomowoc, Wis.

Non-Academic Awards
Fraternity and Sorority Life Member of the Year: Tourne Massalongo, biomedical engineering, Oak Creek, Wis.

Faculty and Staff Awards
Fraternity and Sorority Life Advocate of the Year: Dawn Blessing, assistant manager, Raider Shop
Student Advocate: Thomas Baker, chemistry specialist, Raider Center for Academic Success
Diversity and Inclusion Advocate: Dr. Mitzi Dobersek, associate professor, Civil and Architectural Engineering and Construction Management

Northwestern Mutual Outstanding Actuarial Science Students
Thanks to the generosity of the Northwestern Mutual Actuarial Foundation, actuarial science students were awarded $200 checks for passing at least one of their professional exams during the 2023-24 academic year.
Ben Bettag, actuarial science, Maple Park, Ill.
Grace Ellington, actuarial science, Manchester, Mo.
Ethan Green, actuarial science, Hartford, Wis. 
Ian Fusick, actuarial science, Hanover Park, Ill.
Laynee Fry, actuarial science, Brookfield, Wis. 
Gavin Graham, actuarial science, West Allis, Wis. 
Ava Larson, actuarial science, Dayton, Minn. 
Ethan Odea, actuarial science, Oak Lawn, Ill.
Lanen Reith, actuarial science, Oconomowoc, Wis. 
Mitch Roeglin, actuarial science, Watertown, Wis. 
Brenna Sheehan, actuarial science, Elburn, Ill.
JT Wehmeier, actuarial science, Elkhorn, Wis. 
James Zippay, actuarial science, Saint Louis, Mo.