Annual awards recognize those who exemplify the values and beliefs of the university’s founding family

Dr. Anthony van Groningen, associate professor in the Mathematics Department, received the Oscar Werwath Distinguished Teacher Award. The award was established by the university in 1967 to recognize excellence in teaching. All nominees for this award must have a minimum of seven years of full-time service to MSOE. Students choose the award winner through two rounds of voting. On their ballots, students described van Groningen as a someone who truly cares about them and showing how the content they’re learning applies specifically to their major; takes great pride in what he does and how he does it; and shows a continuous commitment to learning beyond the theory and ensuring students walk away with a fundamental understanding of key concepts.  

Jane Peterson, testing services specialist in the Wellness Center, received the Johanna Seelhorst Werwath Distinguished Staff Award. This award is given annually to the employee who is considered to possess those attributes of excellence of character, outstanding ability, a high order of integrity, loyalty and dedication to duty and a sincere willingness to cooperate with others in maintaining the highest standards of staff performance and service to students, Regents, faculty, other staff members, and the public. All nominees must have seven or more years of full-time service as a staff member. Officers of the university are not eligible for this award nor are previous award winners. The award recipient is voted on by MSOE faculty and staff, who described Peterson as a fantastic coworker who always ensures students get the support they need; a real champion in service; a true embodiment of the MSOE experience; and a pleasure to work with.