Oilgear’s legacy in Milwaukee will live on at MSOE thanks to $935,000 gift from the Oilgear-Ferris Foundation. Representatives from the foundation presented a check to MSOE President John Y. Walz, Ph.D. on Tuesday, July 18 to create an endowed fund that will support student programs and projects, as well as scholarships for students in MSOE’s Mechanical Engineering Department.

“MSOE is honored to carry on the investment Oilgear made in the community,” said Walz. “Endowed gifts such as this enable us to offer students additional scholarship and project support.”

Oilgear began in Milwaukee in 1921 out of a development project by engineers at the Bucyrus Co. Over the years, Oilgear grew into a global company and the world’s most demanding hydraulic control applications have relied on its high-performance fluid power solutions. Until 2015, the company’s location in Milwaukee was responsible for manufacturing pumps, hydraulic systems and other parts for industrial machinery and construction equipment.

The company was founded on a tradition of bringing only the most advanced engineering to its customers. Oilgear made an indelible impact on Milwaukee, providing many jobs for laborers, assemblers, machinists, engineers and business professionals for decades. For decades, Oilgear and the Oilgear-Ferris Foundation have financially supported MSOE. As the Oilgear-Ferris Foundation winds down, executives have elected to transfer the balance of the foundation to MSOE. With this gift, the foundation has created an endowment at MSOE to preserve the company’s legacy. The new Oilgear-Ferris Foundation Endowed Fund at MSOE will support mechanical engineering student projects, programs, organizations and scholarships.

“Oilgear was created by three engineers from a development project,” said David Zuege, former President/CEO, Oilgear Co. “We are very pleased that this endowment could support such projects and scholarships for mechanical engineering students.”

The gift comes at a time when MSOE’s Mechanical Engineering Department is growing. “We’ve doubled in size since 1998,” said Dr. Matthew Panhans, chair of the Mechanical Engineering Department. “We have a lot of good potential uses for this gift that would help us deliver MSOE’s mission. The Oilgear legacy will continue on through the Oilgear-Ferris Foundation we will be good stewards.”

 

Associate Professor

Dr. Aaron Armstrong

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7361 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S259 armstrong@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Professor, Vice Chairperson & BSE Program Director

Dr. Cynthia Barnicki

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7461 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S112D barnickc@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Senior Lecturer

Jeff Bitant

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7375 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S110 bitant@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Assistant Professor

Dr. Michael Cook

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7385 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S128 cook@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Professor, Program Director, ME

Dr. Christopher Damm

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7543 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S145 damm@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Adjunct Professor

Dr. Simon Dao

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7397 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S200D dao@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Adjunct Associate Professor

Dr. Mark Daugherty

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-2266 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S200A daugherty@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Project Manager

Anne Deisinger

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7381 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S264 deisinger@msoe.edu
Adj Asst Prof

Richard Dykowski, JD

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-2259 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S200C dykowski@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Lecturer

Sara Falkiewicz

Department: Mechanical Engineering
Associate Professor

Dr. Bill Farrow

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-2241 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S125B farroww@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Adjunct Associate Professor

David Gerow

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-6764 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S258C gerow@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Assistant Professor

Dr. Douglas Grabenstetter

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7390 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S112E grabenstetter@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Lab Technician

Roger Hajny

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7243 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S263 hajny@msoe.edu
Lecturer

Ralph Harkins

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7366 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S258A harkins@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Assistant Professor

Dr. Kevin Hart

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7355 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S229 hart@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Schedule Coordinator

Ann Herrmann

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7278 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S264 herrmann@msoe.edu
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Dr. Randall Jackson

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7590 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S125 jackson@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Dr. Richard Jungmann

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7375 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S110 jungmann@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Senior Lecturer

David Kohlmann

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7312 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S213 kohlmann@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Professor/Program Director

Dr. Subha Kumpaty

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7466 Walter Schroeder Library: L351 kumpaty@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Professor

Dr. Mohammad Mahinfalah

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7546 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S126 mahinfalah@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Instructor

Lars Maxfield

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7354 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S230 maxfield@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Assistant to Chair

Vivian Mickelson

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7375 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S110 mickelson@msoe.edu
Lecturer

Phillip Mueller

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7375 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S110 mueller@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Professor

Dr. Joe Musto

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7455 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S129 musto@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Associate Professor

Dr. Leah Newman

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7166 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S112B newman@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Professor/Department Chair

Dr. Matt Panhans

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7277 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S110B panhans@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Assistant Professor

Dr. Nathan Patterson

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-2558 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: SG30 patterson@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Lab Technician

Rich Phillips

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7388 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: SG31 phillips@msoe.edu
Professor

Dr. Vincent Prantil

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7451 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S201B prantil@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Assistant Professor

Dr. Katie Reichl

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7386 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S112F reichl@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Professor

Dr. Robert Rizza

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7377 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S125C rizza@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Assistant Professor

Dr. Luis A Rodriguez

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7393 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S112A rodriguez@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Adjunct Associate Professor

Dr. Luis G Rodriguez

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7375 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S110 rodrigul@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Lecturer

Mark Ryan

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-2263 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S127 ryan@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Lecturer

Oliver Sams

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7375 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S125 samsoc@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Associate Professor

Dr. Matt Schaefer

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7473 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S144 schaefma@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Lecturer

Dr. Benjamin Schultz

Department: Mechanical Engineering
Assistant Professor

Dr. Nebojsa Sebastijanovic

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7284 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S112G sebastijanov@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Assistant Professor

Dr. Michael Sevier

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-2472 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S112C sevier@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Lecturer

Natraj Shanker

Department: Mechanical Engineering
Laboratory Engineer

Justin Sommer

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7380 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: SG26 sommerj@msoe.edu
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Michael Sracic

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-2557 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S265B sracic@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Adjunct Professor

Dr. Alexey Sverdlin

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-2232 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S258D sverdlin@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Associate Professor

Michael Swedish

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7379 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: SG29A swedish@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Adjunct Professor

Dennis Tronca

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7395 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S258B tronca@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Assistant Professor

Dr. Prabhakar Venkateswaran

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7250 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S147 venkateswaran@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Dr. Anand Vyas

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-2319 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S261A vyas@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Associate Professor

Dr. Daniel Williams

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-2469 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S201C williamsd@msoe.edu Faculty Resume
Professor, Program Director, IE

Dr. Charlene Yauch

Department: Mechanical Engineering
(414) 277-7258 Allen Bradley Hall of Science: S112H yauch@msoe.edu Faculty Resume