Congratulations to the nearly 100 Milwaukee School of Engineering students who were nominated for leadership awards this year. The following awards were presented at the Student Awards Celebration on May 6.  

Outstanding Student Award
Ploypairin Chongvatanabandit was chosen as the 2019 recipient of the Fred F. Loock Outstanding Student Award. This award is presented annually to the MSOE senior student, who, in the opinion of the faculty, most notably combines an excellent academic record and has at the same time demonstrated leadership and professional bearing in extracurricular or community service activities. It is the most prestigious student testimonial that MSOE bestows. Chongvatanabandit will graduate May 25 with a bachelor’s degree in biomedical engineering from MSOE.  

While at MSOE, Chongvatanabandit has served as the commuter senator and elections chairperson of Student Government, and president of the Student Union Board; participated in the Biomedical Engineering Society, Black Student Union, MAGE, Society of Women Engineers, and Circle K; volunteered with the “College-to-Career” Workshop, World Robotic Olympiad, Froedtert Hospital, and St. Theresa’s Elementary School. She participated on multiple campus committees, including Senior Weekend 2019 Committee, Concinnity Committee, Biomedical Engineering Industrial Advisory Committee, and more.  

Chongvantanabandit is originally from Franklin, Wisconsin. In addition to her involvement at MSOE, she held internships at GE Healthcare, NeoCoil and Werner Electric Supply. She also had campus jobs in the Kern Center and residence halls.  

High Honor Awards
Student Employee of the Year: Britta Grayvold, user experience and communication design, Norway, Michigan
Female Senior Scholar Athlete: Shelby Namen, soccer, biomolecular engineering, Anchorage, Alaska
Male Senior Scholar Athlete: Jason Palesse, basketball, mechanical engineering/actuarial science, New Berlin, Wisconsin
Female Senior Athlete of the Year: Jerica Kotarak, track and field, biomedical engineering, Muskego, Wisconsin
Male Senior Athlete of the Year: Quinten Krisik, volleyball, biomedical engineering, Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Daniel E. Sahs Memorial Award for Service: Jenna Sgarlata, software engineering, Roselle, Illinois
Thomas W. Davis Student Leadership: Nicholas Dallgas, business administration, Saukville, Wisconsin
Diversity and Inclusion Student: Sofia Diaz, mechanical engineering, Chicago  

Academic Awards
Nursing Leadership Award: Ryan Vanderloop, nursing, Shorewood, Wisconsin
Vincent Canino Outstanding Biomedical Engineering Senior: Noel Knibb Jr., biomedical engineering, Hialeah, Florida  

University Innovation Fellows Pinning
Noe Gonzalez, software engineering, Milwaukee
Nicole Lange, biomedical engineering, Lake In The Hills, Illinois
Jack Turicek, mechanical engineering, Brookfield, Wisconsin  

Athletic Awards
Faculty Athletic Representative (FAR) for Team Academics (Male): Men’s Hockey Team
Faculty Athletic Representative (FAR) for Team Academics (Female): Women’s Softball Team  

Non-Academic Awards
Greek of the Year: Jonathan Stowe, mechanical engineering, Shelton, Connecticut  

Faculty and Staff Awards
Greek Advocate of the Year: Dr. Edward Chandler, adjunct professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department
Coaches Award of Appreciation: Tom Zienkiewicz, ice arena coordinator, Kern Center
Student Advocate: Kristen Landaal, hall director – RWJ, Residence Life Department
Oscar Werwath Outstanding Teacher: Dr. Anthony van Groningen, associate professor, Mathematics Department
Diversity and Inclusion Advocate: Tanzania Sewell, adjunct assistant professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department  

Northwestern Mutual Outstanding Actuarial Science Students
Northwestern Mutual recognized 13 MSOE students for their dedication and hard work in actuarial science.