With 139 members, MSOE’s student chapter of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) is the largest in the United States and third largest in the world.

In February 2015, the chapter was the Class 1 recipient of the 2014 SAE Honeywell Outstanding Collegiate Branch Award. This award, which was established in 1963 by the Bendix Corp., recognizes SAE Collegiate Branches for exemplary performance in the areas of technical meetings, networking opportunities, promoting SAE membership, activities including the Collegiate Design SeriesTM competitions, and community service programs like A World in Motion®.

Its executive members are mechanical engineering majors Lauren Goulet, president; Karl Hundt, vice president; John Miller, Ben Mueller, Anthony Reh, Spencer Rich, Adrian Robillard and Brandon VanderHeyden.