MSOE’s student chapter of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) was the Class 2 recipient of the 2018 SAE Honeywell Outstanding Collegiate Branch Award. They are only one of two recipients of this award, out of 251 SAE chapters worldwide. The award, established in 1963 by the Bendix Corp., recognizes SAE Collegiate Branches for exemplary performance in the areas of technical meetings, networking opportunities, promoting SAE membership, activities including the Collegiate Design SeriesTM competitions, and community service programs like A World in Motion®.  

The group received a plaque and $850 award. This is the fifth outstanding collegiate branch award MSOE has received in the past eight years. The group’s officers include Cole Abbeduto, webmaster and software engineering major; RJ Arlt, vice chairman and mechanical engineering major; Alex Banse, secretary and mechanical engineering major; Mitchell Carpenter, chairman and computer engineering major; and Chandler Smith, event coordinator and mechanical engineering major. Dr. Christopher Damm, professor and mechanical engineering program director, is the group’s faculty advisor.