Congratulations to the more than 70 Milwaukee School of Engineering students who were nominated for leadership awards this year. The following awards were presented at the annual President’s Student Leadership Awards Night on May 4:

Outstanding Student Award

Jonathan Braaten, of Glasgow, Montana, was chosen as the 2016 recipient of the Fred F. Loock Outstanding Student Award. This award is presented annually to the MSOE senior student, who, in the opinion of the faculty, most notably combines an excellent academic record and has at the same time demonstrated leadership and professional bearing in extracurricular or community service activities. It is the most prestigious student testimonial that MSOE bestows. Braaten will graduate May 28 with a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from MSOE.

Other Awards

Vincent R. Canino Outstanding Biomedical Engineering Senior Student AwardDevon Lantagne, Niagara, Wisconsin, biomedical engineering

Nursing Leadership AwardNicole Baylon, Gurnee, Illinois, nursing

Matt W. Fuchs Outstanding CAECM Senior Student AwardJill Vande Boom, Port Washington, Wisconsin, architectural engineering and civil engineering; and Adam Laux, Baraboo, Wisconsin, architectural engineering and structural engineering

Thomas W. Davis Student Leadership AwardElizabeth Donohew, Milwaukee, software engineering

Daniel E. Sahs Award for ServiceHannah Torvick, Bloomington, Minnesota, electrical engineering

Resident Assistant Programming AwardHolly Denfeld, Edgar, Wisconsin, architectural engineering and construction management

Greek of the Year AwardDani Van Lanen, Omro, Wisconsin, mechanical engineering

Student Employee of the Year AwardBraden Thiel, Greenleaf, Wisconsin, electrical engineering