MSOE’s student chapter of the Society of Women Engineers (SWE) won awards for professional development and member retention at the SWE Region H Conference for collegiate and professional members.

Sixteen members of the SWE-MSOE chapter attended the Region H event, held at the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor in mid-March, which offered breakout sessions and networking opportunities, as well as an awards ceremony recognizing chapter achievements. MSOE won “Outstanding Professional Development” and “Highest Retention Rate” awards in the large section division. Membership for the MSOE chapter increased from 92 registered members last year to 125.

“I am a member and have been since my freshman year because I was excited to work with other amazing female engineers on campus,” said Rachael DiGrazia, biomedical engineering senior. DiGrazia has served on the fundraising committee, as fundraising chair and president. She currently serves as vice president and professional development chair. “As a registered national SWE member, you get to join webinars, attend national and regional conferences, find jobs through the SWE career website, network with other SWE collegiate peers and professionals, become an officer, and tons of other awesome benefits. I truly love the women I have worked with as an officer and have learned so much over the last four years.”

The SWE is a not-for-profit education and service organization that empowers women to succeed and advance in the field of engineering, and to be recognized for their contributions as engineers and leaders. Region H is the heartland region of SWE, which is comprised of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

In addition to DiGrazia, SWE-MSOE officers include electrical engineering senior Jessica Bilskie, president; electrical engineering senior Kayla Heraly, fundraising chair; biomedical senior Elizabeth Kolanczyk, treasurer; electrical engineering senior Betsy McBride, webmaster; industrial engineering sophomore Tara Rahmani, outreach chair; and biomolecular engineering junior Devyn Yates, secretary.