Alumni Awards

Each July, MSOE honors alumni for their outstanding achievements in their careers and communities and showcase the values of MSOE. Recipients are celebrated and receive their award at a reception and dinner during Summer in the City. Alumni can be nominated for the following awards:

New Alumni Award Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Legacy Alumni Award

The Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging (DEIB) Legacy Award is awarded to an alumnus/a or a group of multiple alumni who has made a positive and lasting DEIB change in their local community, profession and/or the MSOE community. The award recognizes those who overcame cultural diversity norms, removed obstacles and/or created inclusive opportunities as a student or an alumnus/a of the university.

Outstanding Alumnus/a of the Year Award
The Outstanding Alumnus/a of the Year is awarded to an alumnus/a who has made a significant advancement, discovery, or impact in their career and/or company, to science, engineering, nursing, mathematics, business, and/or entrepreneurship in the previous two years. This person should distinguish themselves in their field and provide leadership in addressing an important issue in their community while embracing philanthropic values.

Community Builder Award
The Community Builder Award is presented to alumni who have contributed time and talent to the betterment of others and their community. This award recognizes alumni who have given of themselves in support of civic, charitable, philanthropic, and/or social welfare organizations.

Graduate of the Last Decade Award
The Graduate of the Last Decade is awarded to an alumnus who has achieved accomplishments of significant importance at an early stage of a career, having received their undergraduate degree within the last 10 years. The alumnus will distinguish themselves by being engaged as a volunteer with MSOE or being connected to another non-profit in the community along with having made substantial progress in his/her career.

Alumni Achievement Award
Currently not being awarded
The Alumni Achievement Award honors graduates of MSOE who have shown outstanding professional accomplishments in their fields while demonstrating public service and leadership. These alumni will be engaged in the mission/advancement of MSOE and its respective alumni community.

Nursing Alumna of the Year
Selected by the nursing department 
The Nursing Alumna of the Year award honors a nurse from the Milwaukee County General Hospital School of Nursing or the Milwaukee School of Engineering School of Nursing BSN or MSN programs. The recipient must demonstrate leadership in the field of nursing and have made an impact on the health outcome of patients. They also must also embody the spirit of collaboration, curiosity, and professionalism.